Pop Culture Through the Eyes of a Six Year Old

Here’s an overview of an interview I had with my six year old niece the other day about popular culture:

Q: Do you have any favourite books you like to read?

A: I love Dr. Seuss books. I can’t read them yet but my mum can.

Q: Any others?

A: I read a book about how sunflowers grow. I like sunflower books.

Q: Do you have any favourite TV shows?

A: I love Big Brother and MasterChef. I love watching The Block with Nanny too.

Q: Do you still watch Dora?

A: Oh yes! I still love Dora.

Q: What’s popular with the other kids at your school?

A: Um…. Reading Eggs. And…. um….. Kidz Biz.

Q: Are there any toys, shows or games that all the kids like?

A: Razor Scooters are really popular. Some kids have Diamond Boards too.

Q: What’s a Diamond Board?

A: Well, it’s like this board and it’s an egg shape.

Q: Like a skateboard?

A: Yeah….. Kind of.

Q: Do you have a favourite movie?

A: Um…. I can’t remember…… I watched The Smurfs 2 the other day at the movies with Nanny and Poppy.

Q: What about music? Do you have a favourite singer or band?

A: Well, I love One Direction. And Alicia Keys. Oh yeah, and Justin Bieber.

Q: What’s your most favourite thing?

A: Tom.

Q: Who’s Tom?

A: He’s my fluffy dog with big ears.

2 thoughts on “Pop Culture Through the Eyes of a Six Year Old

  1. mariamead says:

    Aww, so cute Malinda! She’s only 6 but she knows what she likes, and can assess what’s popular with kids at school generally. I find it very encouraging that she has a favourite series of books but is more hesitant about naming a fav movie. And the most wonderful of all? Her MOST favourite thing is not a computer game or TV show but a real live pet!!
    Wouldn’t it be interesting to track Miss Six’s answers to these over the next 10 years…?
    Thanks for sharing your conversation, and to your niece for explaining what Diamond Boards are (new to me!).

Leave a comment

Youth and POP culture

So hot it POPS

youthpopcultureandtext

4 out of 5 Teacher Librarians like Popular Culture

judgmental observer

film, tv, popular culture, higher ed, unicorns

A Year of Reading

A look at popular culture and things that sizzle and fizzle

Blog - KOALA

A look at popular culture and things that sizzle and fizzle

Rule 43

If you search long enough you will find anything on the Internet

Sally Rippin

A look at popular culture and things that sizzle and fizzle

The Grapevine

A blog about the impact of digital technologies and popular culture on the way children learn and play.

Kelli McGraw

sharing findings, inviting conversations

Youth and Pop Culture

Youth and Popular Culture